Alba Rosa Viëtor


Musicians Alba Rosa Viva! 2018

Sunday, December 2nd, 2018, Amsterdam

One day chamber music festival in recital hall of The Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Netherlands

In the third edition of the one-day festival ALBA ROSA VIVA! female composers form the central thread in all the concerts. Chamber music works by Rosy WertheimHenriëtte BosmansAlma MahlerClara SchumannCécile ChaminadeTansy Davies and Alba Rosa Viëtor will be performed. Also on the program are compositions of Karl Weigl (the teacher of Rosy Wertheim), Willem JethsGabriel Fauré and Franz Schubert. The finale of the Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Prize will be part of the festival, which include a lecture on women composers and an interview with Tansy Davies.

Order your tickets for the concerts in the festival

11.00 – Sunday morning concert, broadcast live on Dutch national Radio 4 (AVRO/TROS)

Hans van den Boom, presentation over the radio

The morning concert is sold out

Harriet Krijgh (cello),  Magda Amara  (piano),  Adèle Charvet (mezzo soprano)

GABRIEL FAURÉ  (1845-1924),  Élégie for cello and piano 

                                                   Songs (selection) 

HENRIETTE BOSMANS (1895-1952),  Sonata for cello and piano (1921) 

CÉCILE CHAMINADE (1857-1944),  Songs (selection)

12.15 – Champagne Lunch
13:30 – Introduction to women composers by Leo Samama
14.15– Afternoon concert

Order tickets for the afternoon concert

Thomas Beijer (piano),  Niek Baar (violin),  Ella van Poucke (cello),  Dudok Quartet Amsterdam

ALBA ROSA VIËTOR (1889-1979),  Piano trio in A minor (1951) 

HENRIËTTE BOSMANS (1895-1952),  String quartet  (1927) 

CLARA SCHUMANN (1819-1896),  Piano trio in G minor, op.17 

FRANZ SCHUBERT (1833-1897), Quartettsatz D.703 for String quartet

16:30 – Finale Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition

Presentation: Maartje Stokkers

Five new compositions (for one singer and piano trio) by young composers from all over the world will be performed by the Amatis Piano Trio , Lilian Farahani and Katharine Dain. The jury includes composer Willem Jeths (chairman), Tansy Davies, Detlev Glanert, Calliope Tsoupaki and Paolo Marzocchi will assign the first and second prize. The audience will decide who wins the audience prize.

Order tickets for the finale of the Competition, wtih the Amatis Piano Trio, Lilian Farahani and t.b.a.


MARIO ALFREDO OYANADEL GUIÑEZ (1990), The only lifeline 

RICCARDO PERUGINI (1996), Plastic Flowers 

PATRICK FRIEL (1989), Under vast arrays of stars 

RAMIN AMIN TAFRESHI (1992), It’s the Voice that shall Remain 

17:30 – Awards ceremony Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Prizes 2018
18:00 – Meet & Greet with the finalists
18:30 – Diner
19.30 – Composer in residence of The Concertgebouw, Tansy Davies, interviewed by Vrouwkje Tuinman
20.15 – Evening concert

Order tickets for the evening concert

Sarah Wegener (soprano),  Karin Strobos (mezzo soprano),  Ruysdael Quartet,  Reinild Mees (piano),  Lars Wouters van den Oudenweijer (clarinet)

ALMA MAHLER  (1879-1964),  Songs (selection)  

ROSY WERTHEIM  (1888-1949),  Zwei Lieder  (1922-24) 

KARL WEIGL  (1881-1941),  Fünf Lieder für Sopran und Streichquartett, op.40

WILLEM JETHS  (1959),  Monument to a Universal Marriage, 2011


TANSY DAVIES (1973),  Song of Pure Nothingness, 2015 

GABRIEL FAURÉ (1845-1924),  La Bonne Chanson op. 61 



Share this page