Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition 2016

We have been overwhelmed by the number of entries for the International Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition 2016. The jury – led by Dutch composer Willem Jeths – has received more than 130 compositions by young composers from 38 countries! Willem Jeths and his team have taken a deep breath… and have started to find out who’s compositions will reach the finals! Thank you all!!

Meet the Finalists >

The Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition is part of the one-day music festival Alba Rosa Viva!, named after the Italian composer, violinist and pianist Alba Rosa Viëtor. The Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition 2016 seeks scores (max. length 8’) suitable for a chamber music ensemble (Duo, Trio, Quartet or Quintet) of string/wind instruments with/without piano. Composers 35 years of age and under, residing anywhere in the world are invited to apply.

Finals and Jury

Five works will be chosen for premiere on Sunday, 2 October 2016, during Alba Rosa Viva! at the Leeuwenbergh, Utrecht (Netherlands).

First prize
€ 2.000

Second Prize
€ 1.000

Audience Prize
€ 1.000

Chairman of the Jury is Dutch composer Willem Jeths. He will be assisted by the English composer Jonathan Dove, Dutch composer and soprano Monique Krüs, flutist Marieke Schneemann and pianist/festival director Reinild Mees.

Read more about the members of the jury

  •  The application deadline is 1 June 2016
  •  The full score, without separate instrumental parts, must be sent by email to
  •  The composition must be for 2 to 5 instruments and no longer than 8 minutes
  •  The computer file submitted must be a PDF file, formatted as A4, and have been created in either Sibelius or Finale
  •  Only one work may be submitted
  •  There is no registration form
  •  There is no application fee.

Each email submission must include:

  • The full score
  • A second PDF-file containing a copy of the composer’s passport, his or her name and address, telephone number, email and website addresses, as well as a short CV
  • A statement by the composer that the submitted work has neither been published, performed in public and/or broadcast previously, nor awarded a prize in any other composition competition.

The Jury will select 5 works from the applications submitted by 1 August 2016 at the latest. The composers of the works selected for the Final on 2 October 2016 will be notified by email; the separate instrumental parts of the works must be submitted no later than 15 August 2016.

Alba Rosa Viva!

The second edition of the one-day festival Alba Rosa Viva! will pay tribute to the Dutch composer Elisabeth Kuyper (1877-1953). Also the chamber music works by Max Bruch (Elisabeth Kuyper’s teacher and mentor), Mathilde Wantenaar (winner of the Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Prize 2014), Willem Jeths, Jonathan Dove and Alba Rosa Viëtor herself, of course, will be performed. A lecture on Elisabeth Kuyper will be given by Willem Jeths. The finals of the Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Prize will conclude the festival.

About Alba Rosa Viëtor

Alba Rosa Viëtor (1889-1979) was a renowned concert violinist, pianist and composer of her time. Her life was divided over three continents. She was born in Italy, emigrated to Montevideo, studied in Brussels and subsequently lived in Buenos Aires, Vienna and New York. Her works have been performed by America’s greatest orchestras and soloists. Alba Rosa Viëtor was a member of the society of American composers.

About Elisabeth Kuyper

The Dutch composer, pianist and conductor Elisabeth Kuyper (1877-1953) began composing at an early age. She moved to Berlin to continue her composition studies there. In 1901 Elisabeth Kuyper became the first woman to be admitted to study composition at the Meisterschule für Komposition, led by Max Bruch. He became a great champion of and mentor to Kuyper, and conducted many of her compositions. In 1905, Kuyper became the first woman composer to be awarded the Mendelssohn Prize. She then composed perhaps her best known and most played work, the Violin Concerto in B Minor, Op. 10. In 1910 she formed and conducted the Berlin Women Musician’s Orchestra. In 1923 and 1924 she founded Women’s Symphony Orchestra’s in London and New York.

Deel deze pagina - Share this page