Alba Rosa Viëtor

Alba Rosa Viëtor Composition Competition 2020/2022

Chairman of the Jury Willem Jeths with Primo Ish-Hurwitz  |   Photo: Foppe Schut


The Alba Rosa Viëtor Prize is shared (ex aequo) between Primo Ish-Hurwitz (The Netherlands, 2001) with his composition Listen and Germán José Mercado (Argentina,1989) with his composition…Then the bird said “Nevermore”…
The Audience Prize has not been awarded.


The Jury selected the four finalists.The final took place at the Alba Rosa Viva! Festival on Friday 18 February, 2022, at Muziekgebouw aan ’t IJ, Amsterdam (The Netherlands). Performers were the internationally acclaimed musicians Laetitia Gerards soprano and Barbara Kozelj mezzo-soprano, Dana Zemtsov viola, Ella van Poucke violoncello, Lars Wouters van den Oudenweijer clarinet and Anna Fedorova piano.

You can listen to the final here


  • Germán José Mercado(Argentina,1989) with …Then the bird said “Nevermore”
  • Giorgio Francesco Dalla Villa (Italy,1986) with Life Doesn’t Frighten Me
  • Otto Wanke (Czech Republic,1986) with Inner Views\
  • Primo Ish-Hurwitz (The Netherlands,2001) with Listen


  • Willem Jeths (chairman)
  • Judith Weir
  • Calliope Tsoupaki
  • Hanna Kulenty
  • Reinild Mees
Deel deze pagina - Share this page